Maryland Assessment Program

The Maryland School for the Blind complies with all federal and state mandates, including the No Child Left Behind (NCLB) law, and fully participates in the Maryland Assessment Program which consists of all State and County mandated assessments.

What are the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA)?

The HSA are tests in four core subjects: English, government, algebra/data analysis, and biology. Students take each test whenever they complete the course. For example, some students may take algebra in seventh grade while others may not take it until tenth grade.  The tests contain multiple-choice questions and questions requiring written responses. These questions are based on the content outlined in Maryland’s Core Learning Goals.

For more information, please visit: HSA

What are the NEW PARCC Assessments (PARCC)?

Maryland is a Governing State in the Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC), a consortium of 24 states working together to develop an assessment system aligned to the Common Core State Standards. The new assessments will be anchored in college and career readiness; provide comparability across states; and be able to assess and measure higher-order skills such as critical thinking, communications, and problem solving.  The assessments will be computer-based and will include a mix of constructed response items, performance-based tasks, and computer-enhanced, computer-scored items.

For more information, please visit: PARCC

What is the NEW NCSC Assessment (NCSC)?

The National Center and State Collaborative (NCSC) is a project led by five centers and 26 states (15 core states and 11 Tier II states including Maryland). The NCSC is developing a comprehensive system that addresses the curriculum, instruction, and assessment needs (summative math and ELA tests for 3-8 & 11) of students with the most significant cognitive disabilities. This new technology delivered assessment is built with universal design features for the most student interaction.

For more information, please visit: NCSC